Nutrition & Obesity Policy Research & Evaluation Network

The Nutrition and Obesity Policy Research and Evaluation Network (NOPREN) is a collaborative applied research network that informs policies and practices designed to improve nutrition, prevent obesity, and advance health equity.

NOPREN members include researchers and practitioners interested in how policies and programs enacted at the federal, state, tribal, and local levels impact families’ food security, access to healthy food and water, and overall nutrition and health.

How NOPREN Members Engage With the Network

Announcements


Summer Speaker Series for Students

The goal of the second-annual Summer Speaker Series for Students is to take a deep dive into policy, systems, and environmental (PSE) change strategies that promote healthy eating among children and families, specifically during and after the COVID-19 pandemic, by exploring various local, state, federal, and tribal nutrition programs. Participants will also have the opportunity to learn more about HER NOPREN collaborative efforts. Speakers will represent different sectors in the topical space and present on the fundamentals of the topic, along with relevant professional opportunities in research, policy, and practice. Participation in the series is open to undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students. This series is a collaborative effort of Healthy Eating Research, a national program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Nutrition and Obesity Policy Research and Evaluation Network (NOPREN).

The series will consist of 7 webinar presentations on a variety of topics related to PSE strategies to promote healthy eating. The presentations will be held on Wednesdays from 4pm to 5pm EST every week from June 16th, 2021 to July 28th, 2021. Calendar invitations will be sent from NOPREN ([email protected]) to all confirmed students. 

Registration link: https://ucsf.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwpf-mqrzkjH9byFrUo7Ps9jn1J1WCO02lp 
For a schedule of the topics, click here

 

Events

Aug
09

State-of-the-Science: August Webinar

Date: August 9, 2021
Time: 12pm EST/9am PST
Aug
10

Work Group Meeting: School Wellness

Date: August 10, 2021
Time: 2PM EST/11AM PST
Aug
16

Work Group Meeting: Early Childhood

Date: August 16, 2021
Time: 1PM EST/10AM PST